Founded in 1929, with two asphalt courts on Shire Council land at Garden Square, Somers Tennis Club has provided social and strong competition tennis to the community since then, except during the Second World War.
In 1984 the club moved to RW Stone Reserve in Camp Hill Road when two plexipave courts were built with lighting. The current clubhouse was built by volunteers and opened in 1994, replacing the old tin shed which had served as a clubhouse until then.
In December 2005, court 3 was added - this time a synthetic grass court with lights. In January 2013, the two plexipave courts were resurfaced in Rebound Ace HSA, a cushioned hard court system designed specifically for outdoor use. In November 2018, the synthetic grass court was resurfaced in Rebound Ace HSA and our halogen lights were replaced with more energy efficient LED lights. In 2023, courts 1 & 2 were recoated as part of our court maintenance program, and in early 2025, the lights on courts 1 & 2 were upgraded to LED.
In recent years the clubhouse has been painted inside and out, the roof has been replaced, and a new verandah and path have been added, providing improved access between court 3 and the clubhouse.
Our next major project is the addition of a 4th court to better accommodate growing demand for courts through night tennis, junior and senior competition as well as coaching and social tennis.
Somers Tennis Club has maintained a healthy membership, made up of about 85% local and 15% non-resident members. Our spectacular surroundings are the envy of many, and our Club is delighted to be able to offer outstanding facilities for both social and serious tennis players, as well as the many community members who make regular use of our lovely clubhouse. New members are always welcome.
Take a step back in time with photos from our past.